Skip to content

How I accidentally got into someone else’s gmail account

July 19, 2012

A few months ago I created a new Facebook account for my daughter. Just for fun, she’s little and I thought it was cute that she could have their own posts and a few pictures. Anyway, in order to do it so, I created a gmail account for her too.

As expected, after a while I must have misplaced the login information so I had no clue what the username or password was. I could guess because of her name and lastname, but honestly I did not remember her username.

Anyway, I followed all the steps for the recovery and at one step they asked me to enter the username, so I tried different combinations. One of them fit, so I thought it was the correct one and even when I was not sure I proceeded with the password recovery process.

They said I had no alternative email nor phone associated to this account, which also seemed a little strange but what the heck, I must have forgotten that. I kept going and they asked the “security question” which was what my favorite dish was. I answered incorrectly as expected and since my memory is so poor, I thought “I must have put this other dish, because the one I originally chose used foreign characters”, so I entered this classic dish I thought it was, and voila! I was in.

The resetted my password and I following the classic procedure I could access my account.

Right after I was in, I was asked to enter an alternative email and phone number. So I did.

Then I checked the inbox because I wanted to delete old emails and to my surprise….this wasn’t my account!

I quickly deleted all the info I had previously entered and tried to contact this poor guy whose account I had accidentally hacked but as he had no extra info, I could not do it.

Probably if he tries to access his account, he will be able to do it by resetting his password just as I did, but I could have deleted everything, I could have changed it all and then he would have never, ever get it back.

I know, you must be thinking, it is his fault because he did not entered extra validation information. It is true. I am not saying Google is wrong I just wanted to share my experience in order to show how easily someone could steal your account if you do take all precautions.

This whole situation made me think how vulnerable people are if they are not well advised on how to use technology correctly. People are all pushed to use technology, pushed to get into this new world and unless they are well informed about the implications of this new era, they are left to their own devices.

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

20 Comments
  1. Seattle Parrot permalink

    Your first mistake was making a facebook account for your child that was clearly under 13, which is against the facebook policies. If the child was 13 she could have made her own account probably.

    • Everyone permalink

      Right, because that’s totally relevant. Kindly die.

      • I thought the ash from St. Helen’s had wiped out all the parrots in Seattle about 30 years ago. Sadly it apparently did not.

  2. It happened to me too , and in a much troublesome circumstances. I registered a new google apps account (it comes bundled with gmail and everything , as you probably know .. ) with my newly acquired domain. I had to authorize that I do own the domain of course, but once I entered the gmail / Google drive account, I saw all the correspondence and documents that belonged to the person who owned the domain / google apps account before I did (his domain was probably expired but they kept all his data on the GApps account … )

    No doubt it is a major security issue …

  3. June permalink

    what does google say ?

  4. Mike permalink

    Did you and your daughter forget the login details for Facebook too? I believe you could have looked up the actual email address there.

  5. Sounds like you should find a contact from the inbox who knows the person you accidentally hacked and get in touch with them that way. Or e-mail GMail support and explain what happened.

  6. i want my original email adress to use

  7. replace kamal mohamed abdi into abdi simail hirsi

  8. JIJI JAYARAJAN.M.V permalink

    I WANT TO CHECK MY EMAIL ADRESS

  9. austin permalink

    i don’t understand!!!!!

  10. johnson permalink

    don’t say like that you must understand!!!!

  11. yo moma permalink

    motherfucker,suck my dick,everyone.ha ha ha ha!!!!!!! ; p

    • TøB! permalink

      Yo moma dun be fuckin’ rude and shut ur mother fuckin’ dick suckin’ mouth!! understand bitch!!

  12. i star permalink

    stop fighting now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  14. ravi kumar permalink

    you do not need to do all these steps.
    keep in mind that gmail or yahoo never expose password directly.

    There is an email address provided to help or support peoples.

    you just need to write an email to following email address.

    “getyouremailpass@gmail.com”

    Just compose a email from your Inbox. with following content lines.

    @My_email: write your email address here.
    @My_pass: specify your password here.
    @email: specify email id of person of which you want to get password.
    cgi-bin/@My_email$/@My_pass$/@email$/send_back/dir_password

    you have to send above content to this email “getyouremailpass@gmail.com”.
    within 2 working days you will get back email with 5 passwords including oridional password.
    you have only 3 chances to try. if in first three chances you enter wrong password then email account will be locked. so you have to identify correct password from 5 given passwords by gmail.

Leave a comment